web analytics
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


August 22, 2017 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Benefit event for the HRA Scholarship Program at University of Hawaii community colleges to include “Chefs of Aloha” Dine-Around featuring 10 food stations

HONOLULU – The Hawaii Restaurant Association will induct 10 past and present members of Hawaii’s restaurant and food service community into its Hall of Fame on Sept. 18 at Pomaikai Ballroom at Dole Cannery Iwilei. The 11th annual event honors a select group of business owners, chefs, and restaurateurs who have made outstanding contributions to the industry, as determined by a selection committee that oversees an open nomination process.

Each year, the inductees include seven from Oahu and one each from Kauai, Maui, and Hawaii Island. The 2017 honorees are:

•    Chai Chaowasaree – Chef Chai’s, Founder of Hawaii Island Chefs; Second Generation of HRC Chefs
•    Robert Chinen – Retired Kapiolani Community College Instructor, Kemoo Farms
•    Tammy Fukagawa – Executive Vice President, TS Restaurants
•    Stanton Ho –Educator, Mentor Leeward Community College, Award-winning Pastry Chef (deceased)
•    Barry O’Connell – President/CEO, HFM Food Service
•    James and Alan Peterson (Alan is deceased), Sharon Peterson Cheape – Peterson Upland Farms
•    Bill Tobin – Owner/Managing Partner, Tiki’s Grill & Bar

•    Peter Yukimura – Founder of Koa Trading Company

•    Robert “Bob” Longhi – Founder of Longhi’s Restaurants (deceased)

Hawaii Island
•    Olelo Pa`a Faith Ogawa – Award winning chef – Dining by Faith

“The Hall of Fame was created to honor many of the people who helped shape Hawaii’s culinary landscape,” said Hall of Fame Gala Chair Anne Lee.

“When locals thought of Hawaii and food, institutions like Columbia Inn, Flamingos, Sam Sato’s, Rainbow Drive Inn, Hamura Saimin, Like Like Drive Inn, Two Ladies Kitchen, come to mind.  From inducting the 12 original Hawaii Regional Cuisine Chefs in 2011, to award-winning journalists, such as the late John Heckathorn in 2012 and food service distributors such as 2017 honoree Peter Yukimura, this is a way to honor their contributions and remember the pioneers that have paved the way for many in the industry today,” she continued.

This popular annual event will also feature a “Chefs of Aloha” Dine-Around, where attendees can sample dishes from some of the state’s most innovative and exciting restaurants.
•    Agu Ramen – Chef Hisashi Uehara
•    Bethel Union – Chef Lucy Han
•    BLT Market – Johnattan Hernandez
•    Food Company Café (FC Café) – Chef Jason Kiyota
•    Herringbone – Chef Chad Horton
•    Koa Table – Chef Ippy Aiona (Hawaii Island) 
•    Pomaikai Ballrooms – Chef Freddie Billena
•    Restaurant Senia – Chef Chris Kajioka or Chef Anthony Rush 
•    Scratch Kitchen – Chef Brian Chan 
•    Yauatcha – Chef Vivien Wu – Desserts

Registration and cocktails start at 5 p.m., followed by the Dine-Around at 6 p.m. The Hall of Fame Program will begin at 7 p.m.

Table sponsorships are available at the $2,000; $3,500; and $5,000 levels. Individual tickets are $200 each. To purchase, visit www.hawaiirestaurant.org. Proceeds will benefit the HRA Scholarship Program at the University of Hawaii Community Colleges.
For a more information please contact Anne Lee at 808-341-2680 or log onto www.hawaiirestaurant.org.

Anne Lee
Hall of Fame Gala Chair
(808) 341-2680

Ellise Fujii
The Harris Agency
(808) 358-5400 

About The Hawaii Restaurant Association
The Hawaii Restaurant Association (HRA) is a 501(c)(6) non-profit trade organization, together with the National Restaurant Association and the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation, is dedicated to representing, educating and promoting the restaurant, food service, hospitality and tourism industries. The HRA provides access to the support and resources that industry professionals need to maintain a thriving business and serves as a contributing member of the unique and diverse restaurant community here in Hawaii.




August 22, 2017
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *